Congratulations, you're getting married or thinking about it. To get married in Arizona you need to have a marriage license. According to information from the Clerk of the Superior Court of Maricopa County, following are the steps required:
- The fee for a marriage license is $72. payable in cash or check with a driver's license or bank guarantee card. If you are purchasing a license at the Justice Courts, they accept checks, money orders, or cashiers checks.
- If you are both 18 years or older, you can get a marriage license. You may be required to provide a driver's license as proof of age. No blood test is required. And, if divorced, a decree is not required.
- You will receive your marriage license and can be married on the same day you apply for it. An unused marriage license expires one year from the date of purchase. Both parties must be present to obtain a marriage license.
- If you are under the age of 18, you must either have a notarized parental consent form or have your parents accompany you, present the proper identification, and sign the parental consent form in front of the clerk issuing your license.
- If you are age 16-17, identification and one of the following documents showing proof of age is needed: a) certified copy of birth certificate; b) current driver's license; c) state or military I.D. card; or d) current passport.
- If you are age 15 or under, you must also have a court order. To obtain a court order you must contact Conciliation Court at (602) 506-3296.
- Marriages can be performed by a member of the Clergy, a Judge, a Magistrate, a Clerk of the Circuit Court or a Clerk or Clerk-Treasurer of a City or Town.
- You do not have to be an Arizona Resident to get a Marriage License in Arizona.
- There are special requirements for Covenant Marriages. (More about that later).
- Common law marriages or same sex marriages are not recognized in Arizona. Also, you cannot apply for a Marriage License by mail as this was stopped in 2004 to ensure that a Marriage License would not be issued to a same sex couple wanting to be married.
- First cousins may marry if both are 65 years of age or older or, if one or both first cousins are under 65 years of age, upon approval of any Superior Court Judge in the State if proof has been presented to the Judge that one of the Cousins is unable to reproduce.
What you need is:
- A Fiancee (of the opposite sex)
- Proof of age (18 or over)
- A place to get married. (Home, Park, Hotel, Church, etc.)
- An Officiant (There will be a fee)
- Two Witnesses
For Further Information: